Street Photography: “Mamang Sorbetero” (The Ice Cream Man)

image

Metro Manila’s temperature is now averaging 100o Fahrenheit and often, it becomes unbearable during noon time when the sun is at its highest.

So, what is one of those things that Filipinos love during the summer? It’s the street Sorbetes or ice cream on the streets…!

The sorbetero or the “ice cream man” is the most popular person in the Philippines nowadays, with his homemade ice cream and a cone or tinapay (bread), one can temporarily cool himself from the scorching sun and from the sticky high humidity that we have during Philippine summer. Kids love him and the other street vendors envy him.

In case you will have a chance to visit the Philippines and you like to “freshen” up from the heat, just wait for the sorbetero And try his sorbetes!

14 thoughts on “Street Photography: “Mamang Sorbetero” (The Ice Cream Man)

  1. Reblogged this on Phalanxed Noise and commented:
    If you’re not already a follower of Ompong, check out his photography here. This is a good example of his work. There’s a nice contrast here between the bright vivid colors of the ice-cream truck and the dull gray tones of the background. Also he got a nice grab here with the religious quotation on the cart providing a poignant counterpoint to the cheeriness associated with the vendors trade.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lots of thanks, Michelle…
      I was using a prime lens when I took this picture with an aperture of f/2.8 (the lowest my prime lens could go is at f/1.8). With other non-prime lens, the lowest may be at f/3.6. The lower the number of the aperture, the more blur or depth of field you will have in the background. I usually take my shots using the “Av Mode” or aperture priority and let my DSLR auto-adjust the shutter speed and ISO settings. 🙂
      Try it… And you will love the results!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the tips. What brand of camera are you using? Here in our office we use Canon EOS 600D. I don’t have my own DSLR Camera, just planning and saving to buy one, hopefully this year I can buy my own. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m using canon eos 1200D… It’s not that expensive. And I have three lenses… You may check my “My Gear” page of my blog site for the details. 🙂
        1200D is awesome at its price! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

